Carmel in Littlerock-and doing a great job!

I know everyone is wondering how things are going in Littlerock. I am totally exhausted. The days are very long, but packed with great information. I have also had the opportunity to meet some major leaders in our field. Today I went in search of a doggie relief area, and a major researcher in our field came up and introduced herself and offered to help me locate one. I just couldn’t believe it. She laughed when I told her how famous she is. She was all over my Master’s papers, and here she was showing me to the doggie poop area. And, she even said there was nothing she would rather be doing. How humble and sweet. However, I was a bit bored in the sessions too, ha, ha.

Now, on to the topic you all really care about-Carmel. Carmel is doing an amazing job, let me say that again. CARMEL IS DOING AN AMAZING JOB!!! It is wonderful. We are zooming around the area, a several block area on the riverfront in Littlerock. She is sitting/resting through long sessions. Now, I am sitting more this week than I have in a month combined-so I know this has to be hard on her. But, she is handling it like a pro. There have been no more barking incidents, in fact, she is doing quite well with the other guide dogs around. We’ve had a few incidents, especially with little kids, but she comes back as soon as corrected mostly. It is great.

Now, the conference is at the Peabody, which is known for their ducks. Yesterday Carmel saw the ducks outside and was fascinated. When we went out to the veranda where they had been from then on she kept looking for them. She is just convinced they have to be there somewhere. It was like the dogs in our office a few weeks ago. She just remembers and can’t let it go. Hilarious.

This evening I was speaking with a colleague who told me he has been considering the guide dog route for some time. He asked me a lot of questions. Also, then his wife and daughter came along, so the whole family got information. I very much enjoy sharing information and encouraging guide dogs for those who I know have the right mobility skills and needs-as I know it is really life-changing.

I have the interesting perspective that I was here in the same area a couple of months prior to getting Carmel, and then now here with her-and it is radically different I feel so much more confident.

Seeing Eye representatives are here and I went to one of their sessions. A good reminder of a few things. The session was designed for orientation and mobility instructors, but very good for me to hear again as well. Of course, then later that day one of them saw me totally messing up-not knowing where I was going. I hate that-I was doing so great and then right when you mess up there they are. They were encouraging and told me it looks like we are doing a good job though. And, I am feeling more confident in this every day. I was nervous about this trip, but it is working out-and I think Carmel and I are developing greater levels of skills as well. I know I am feeling more trusting of her. This really happens when you are in an unfamiliar area, and this is sure one of those.

Well, here is a cool thing. Somehow I lost Carmel’s portable water bowl-it’s just a plastic thing that unfolds. I must have accidentally left it at home. Now, did I mention prior that half of my suitcase is Carmel stuff. I don’t even think I have enough clothes this time. And, I usually have way more clothes than I actually need. But, of course I had to bring dog food, her brush, her treats, so there wasn’t much room for my stuff-and I wasn’t going to check my bag-no way.

Anyway, I had heard somewhere that you could use a shower cap as a water bowl-and I have been doing that-and it has worked out great. That is my tip of the day. If anyone has other cool tricks like this please feel free to share. I did bring a real bowl for the hotel room, but I am using the shower cap to take to the conference-for between sessions.

So, I am very tired now-and Carmel has already fallen asleep, and I am ready to do so myself. Good night to all!

3 Comments »

  1. Alexis said

    I’m glad to hear things are going so well in Little Rock. Who was the researcher who assisted you to the doggie area? I know several of them from my time at Western Michigan University.

    I also have a friend presenting tomorrow although I’m not sure what time she’s presenting. She is an O&M teacher in Rochester, and her presentation focuses on using O&M concepts to work with sighted people with disabilities. I think it’s primarily geared for people working with sighted people with cognitive disabilities although I could be mistaken on that point. Her name is Diane DeJong. I’m not sure how much vision you have, but she’s got blonde hair and is perhaps 5 3 or 5 4. I’m sure my description isn’t very helpful. LOL

    Give Carmel a pat from Julia and me please.

    Oh and if you see Lukas Franck, please greet him from Julia and me. As an added bonus, if you know German, feel free to use your German knowledge. He and I have spoken in German before, and his German skills are very very good.

    Hope the rest of the conference go3es well for both of you.

  2. torie said

    Hey Sylvia. I’m so glad that things are going well for you and Karmal.

    Is that conference about mobility or something? Have you had any more problems with her relieving on time? I read in your last entry that you had to get up at three o’clock cause she wouldn’t go lol.

    I hope you continue to grow in confidence with Karmal, and well done for going somewhere totally new and enjoying it!!!

    Take care, xxx

    • Sylvia Perez said

      We met several leaders in the field of visual impairment-very very cool-and inspiring.

      We had no more problems. She has done great with relieving-and holding it when needed.

      Thanks much, Sylvia

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment