Archive for May 26, 2010

The emotional challenges – a tough day!

They said in our orientation meeting that our training would be emotionally and physically challenging. As a person who considers herself very emotionally and physically strong, I just thought “not for me.” Well, this morning was extremely emotional for me. I had an incident-which was my fault, and not the dogs or trainers-in which I hit my head on a door (yes, ouch-but minor compared to other times). Now, I never cry, but I did. And, I will have to admit right here-the first thing I thought is “I want my cane back.” My trainer and other trainers were amazing and helped me work through my feelings. The issue is that I am a big softie and was just letting Carmel run me when she was in leash only-and I wasn’t slowing her down-well, I will from now on. After I had some time to calm down and relax we went out for our “harness work route” and all went fine, even great.

This is a huge transition-emotionally and physically. I do miss my cane-especially since I now have that cute pink cane-thanks Missy-but I know that Carmel, my Seeing Eye dog, will give me a whole new and exciting new level of travel independence. It is also difficult to be away from my family, work and all familiar-but in the end it will all be for the best-I will keep positive, and know that I am not immune to difficult days.

Thank you all for your encouragement, thoughts, and prayers-I need them-keep them coming!

Now, I think I’ll go and take some Tylenol and take a 10 minute nap-because it is physically challenging too-smile-I am tired!

Comments (14)