Archive for May 29, 2010

The Solo Walk

Today we did our “solo walks”. This is our opportunity to demonstrate to our trainers, and to ourselves, what we have learned by demonstrating we can do the route we have been working on for a couple of days independently. The route is a mile, and involves several street crossings, with both lighted and non-lighted intersections/streets. Along the way of course we also encounter many natural distractions, such as dogs and cats, other people, and general noise and smells. My solo went very well, at least I think so. I was so excited about the speed we were traveling-it was so freeing. Of course, we encountered many “distractions”. My Carmel girl is super social-like her new owner-and of course when she saw other dogs and children she got distracted, so I had to correct her. But, overall she did great and I felt wonderful. Read the rest of this entry »

Comments (5)